EU-Armenia Relations

EU-Armenia Relations

EAFJD initiated the formation of the EU – Armenia Friendship Group in the European Parliament, which was launched in January 2013, with the presence of the Republic of Armenia National Assembly Speaker at the time, Mr. Hovik Abrahamyan and a large number of deputies. The EU - Armenia Friendship Group is currently presided by Cypriote MEP Dr. Eleni Theocharous.

The group was re-launched in February 2015, after the European Parliament’s elections in June 2014. The Friendship Group is currently comprised of around 50 MEPs and is engaged in fostering cooperation between the sides. It assists in understanding the EU approximation of the country as well as in making the Armenian voice heard in the European Parliament.

- Euronest Parliamentary Assembly: The Euronest Parliamentary Assembly is the Assembly of representatives from the Parliaments of all six EU Eastern Neighbors (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, and the European Parliament). The European Armenian Federation has been involved with this Assembly since its inception and the constituent meeting in May 2011. EAFJD lends its support to the Armenian delegation within the different committees and during the plenary sessions.

- Parliamentary Cooperation Committee (PCC) : The Parliamentary Cooperation Committee is the bilateral, parliamentary platform of the European Parliament and the National Assembly of Armenia. The European Armenian Federation follows the work of this Committee very closely and gives its full support to the Armenian delegation in Brussels, Strasbourg and Yerevan.

-Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE): The PACE is the parliamentary assembly of the Council of Europe (CoE), which convenes in Strasbourg, France, four times a year. The Federation is often present in those plenary sessions, mobilizing its chapters in all countries and assisting the work of the Armenian delegation


Share this article